“Natural flavors” found in Seeking Health products are proprietary flavoring blends derived from natural sources, such as fruits or spices, which serve as a taste enhancement. These flavoring blends are added to lozenges, chewables, powders, or liquids for optimal flavor, making the nutrients more pleasurable to consume for a daily regimen.
Unlike many foods and supplements found on the market today, Seeking Health does not add artificial flavors or colors to any of our supplements to maintain the purity and quality of the products you trust. The FDA defines “natural flavor” as follows:
“The term natural flavor or natural flavoring means the essential oil, oleoresin, essence or extractive, protein hydrolysate, distillate, or any product of roasting, heating or enzymolysis, which contains the flavoring constituents derived from a spice, fruit or fruit juice, vegetable or vegetable juice, edible yeast, herb, bark, bud, root, leaf or similar plant material, meat, seafood, poultry, eggs, dairy products, or fermentation products thereof, whose significant function in food is flavoring rather than nutritional. Natural flavors include the natural essence or extractives obtained from plants listed in 182.10, 182.20, 182.40, and 182.50 and part 184 of this chapter, and the substances listed in 172.510 of this chapter.” (FDA Electronic Code of Federal Regulations - 101.22)
These proprietary blends do not contain any of the eight Major Allergens (Milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, and soy). Products with flavoring blends that contain these allergens must disclose this information on the labeling. Similarly, flavorings cannot claim to be free of animal products for a vegan lifestyle if its actual ingredients do not comply with that claim. Allergen information can be found on each product page at Seekinghealth.com. Descriptions of our product flavors can be found in the Product FAQ section.